MCO for Kuala Lumpur and Johor Bharu beginning May 7th

Kuala Lumpur will be under MCO from the 7th of May till 20th of May 2021, following an announcement by the government earlier.

The lockdown follows after yesterdays announcement where six districts in Selangor including Klang, Gombak, Petaling, Hulu Langat, Kuala Langat, and Sepang, will be placed under MCO from the 6th till 17th of May.

No dine-ins will be allowed, with take away or delivery orders the only options. Restaurants and food outlets will be able to operate between 6 am till midnight only.

Time to reprint those travel documents again folks!

As for supermarkets, grocery stores and fuel stations, operation hours are limited from 6 am to 10 pm. Only fuel stations by the highway may operate 24 hours daily. Inter-district travels will only be permitted for emergency and work purposes.

Shortly before the MCO announcement for Kuala Lumpur, the newly appointed Police Chief Commander of Kuala Lumpur, Datuk Azmi Abu Kassim said the police will deploy some 400 officers to ensure SOP compliance.

In the state of Johor, places like Kota Tinggi, Kulai and Johor Bahru will also be placed under MCO. The same applies to areas in Perak such as Taiping, Larut, Matang and Selama. In Terengganu, 14 subdistricts in Besut will be placed under MCO.

As of today, 3,744 new cases were reported in Malaysia, with Selangor registering over 1,548 new cases.

For further enquiries on SOP, the public may contact the Kuala Lumpur police hotline at 03-21159999, or visit the nearest police station.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here