First-ever GR Vios Sprint Cup happening this weekend at Sepang – watch live in person or online!

UMW Toyota Motor will be hosting the first ever running of the Gazoo Racing Vios Sprint Cup this weekend (21-22 May 2022) at the Sepang International Circuit.

The new event will see a total of 38 drivers from 19 different teams, comprised of professional racers, international and gentlemen drivers, as well as young talents, taking part in two one-hour races – one on each day – competing for a piece of the RM60,000 total prize pool.

The Vios Sprint Cup is run in addition to and independently of the existing Toyota Vios Challenge, and will feature two rounds within the Malaysian Championship Series (MCS), with each round consisting of two races.

It’s still the same format of a one-make series, however, meaning everyone will be taking to the track in an identical race-prepared Toyota Vios (three different generations, mind you) with stock powertrain, suspension, tyres, and fuel to ensure a level playing field while emphasising on race craft, driving skills, and experience.

To that end, the series will also limit only one “experienced” driver per team, with the other spot filled up by rookies or young racers. Prima Pearl TD Racing will be fielding the “Prince of Drift” Tengku Djan alongside teenager Mika Hakimi, while Toyota Vios Challenge veteran Mark Darwin will team up alongside teenager Bradley Benedict Anthony for Laser Motor Racing.

Axle Motorsports meanwhile, will field two all-tenage teams with the first pair of drivers consisting of Hayden Haikal and Naquib Azlan, and the second car driven by Alister Yoong and Muizz Musyaffa.

Other drivers in the line-up include the likes of Mohd Fariqe Hairuman, Eddie Lew, Boy Wong, William Ho, as well as young sensations such as Nabil Azlan and Timothy Yeo.

The Vios Sprint Cup will see both drivers in each team running in two separate qualifying sessions on Saturday, with the faster driver required to start Race 1 on the day, before making a mandatory pit stop and driver swap.

Race 2 follows on Sunday, and will take on a reverse starting grid based on the results of Race 1. The slower driver from the qualifying session will start the one-hour race, and just like Race 1, there will also be a mandatory pit stop and driver change. Both races will feature a rolling start grid.

As for prizes, the winner of each race will collect RM10,000, followed by RM8,000 for second place, RM6,000 for third, and RM4,000 and RM2,000 for fourth and fifth places respectively.

Want to get in on the action yourself? The Gazoo Racing Vios Sprint Cup will be open to the public this weekend at the Sepang International Circuit, or alternatively tune in to the races with live broadcasts on UMW Toyota’s Facebook page.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here