Mercedes-AMG Petronas Motorsport win sixth consecutive F1 constructors’ title

Despite Ferrari’s resurgence after the summer break, it was a matter of time before Mercedes-AMG sealed their sixth constructors title on the trot, and they did it in style over the weekend at the Japanese grand prix with Valtteri Bottas taking the win and Lewis Hamilton finishing third.

Mercedes have both titles in the bag, just to drivers’ crown to be determined between Bottas (left) and Hamilton (middle).

The last team that achieved six consecutive constructors’ titles were Ferrari, from 1999 to 2004, but with Hamilton poised to clinch the driver’s championship with only teammate Bottas still in play mathematically (Hamilton has a 64-point lead with only four races to run), Mercedes-AMG will also add a sixth consecutive drivers’ title as well, something which Ferrari didn’t quite manage the ‘double-double’ over the Schumacher-Todt-Brawn era.

Deadly typhoon Hagibis cleared just in time for qualifying and race on a Sunday.

Other consecutive wins since 1958 when the constructors’ title was introduced were McLaren with four from 1988 to 1991, and Red Bull Racing, also with four, from 2010 to 2013.

Team boss Toto Wolff was quick to dedicate the latest achievement to former non-executive chairman and F1 legend Nikki Lauda, who passed away in May. “I keep thinking to myself ‘What would Niki say, what would he think?’. Today, he probably would have said ‘Congratulations for the sixth one, but you have a challenge on your hands for next year’,” said Wolff.

Niki Lauda remembered amidst the celebrations.

Would you bet against a record-smashing seventh constructors’ title for Mercedes-AMG and a record-equaling seventh title for Hamilton in 2020?


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here