Due to the continuous high number of Covid-19 cases in Selangor and Kuala Lumpur, Senior Minister of Security, Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob has announced that an Enhanced Movement Control Order (EMCO) will be imposed in several localities in the region. The EMCO will be enforced from July 3 until July 16.

“Selangor recorded an average of 1,800 to 1,900 cases daily, while Kuala Lumpur have between 600 and 1,000 cases daily. All districts in Selangor and Kuala Lumpur recorded Covid-19 case incidents of more than 12.1 per 100,000 residents,” he said in a statement released by the National Security Council (MKN) today.

“R-naught (R0) in both states are still around the 1.0 mark, and is not showing any downward trend. This is a worrying situation given that we take into account the density of residents and spread of three new variants, which is much more dangerous.”

With the implementation of the EMCO, all roads in the areas affected will be closed and guarded by the police. All residents in EMCO areas are not allowed to leave their homes, except for one member per family to acquire essential items within a 10km radius. A curfew will also be imposed at 8pm, except for emergency situations or with the police’s approval.

GoCar is offering free shuttle service and vehicle usage for vaccination appointments

All public transport will be operating at 50% capacity, while taxi and ride-hailing services will be limited to two persons onboard, including the driver. Travelling to vaccination centres will be allowed with valid proof of the vaccination appointment in the MySejahtera app or SMS.

Grab offers discounted rides for senior citizens for vaccination appointments

During the EMCO period, only essential services will be allowed to operate from 8am to 8pm. On top of that, only factories that are involved in production of food and daily essentials such as medicine and face masks will be allowed to operate during this period.

Only key workers in the essential services sector with a valid letter of approval from MITI will be allowed to travel to work. All other sectors must work from home.

Restaurants, food trucks, and hawkers will be allowed to operate for takeaway, drive-through, and delivery from 8am to 8pm. Supermarkets, pharmacies, and convenience stores selling essential items will also be allowed to operate from 8am to 8pm.

Meanwhile, petrol stations will be allowed to operate from 6am to 8pm daily, with the exception for those along highways, which will be allowed to operate 24/7.

All social, sports, recreational, and cultural activities will be strictly banned during the EMCO period.

The full SOP document can be found on the National Security Council’s website, linked here.

The full list of regions placed under EMCO from July 3 until July 16 are as follows:

Kuala Lumpur
-PPR Batu Muda, Batu
-PPR Sri Semarak
-Flat Seksyen 2, Wangsa Maju
-Flat Seksyen 1, Wangsa Maju
-Kg Padang Balang
-Taman Koperasi Polis (Phase 1 and 2)
-Flat Sri Sabah
-Kampung Puah
-PPR Kg Baru Air Panas, Setiawangsa
-Flat Desa Pandan (termasuk Baiduri & Delima), Titiwangsa
-Kg. Batu Muda, Batu
-PPR Kerinchi, Lembah Pantai
-Tmn Ikan Emas
-Bandar Baru Sentul


  • Gombak
    • Batu
    • Rawang
    • Setapak
    • Hulu Kelang
    • Kuang
  • Petaling
    • Petaling
    • Damansara
    • Sg Buloh
    • Bukit Raja
  • Hulu Langat
    • Ampang
    • Cheras
    • Kajang
    • Semenyih
    • Beranang
    • Hulu Langat
  • Sepang
    • Dengkil
    • Labu
    • Sepang
  • Kuala Langat
    • Tanjung 12 (1)
    • Tanjung 12 (2)
    • Teluk Panglima Garang
    • Morib
    • Bandar
    • Jugra
    • Batu
  • Klang
    • Kapar
    • Klang
  • Kuala Selangor
    • Ijok
    • Bestari Jaya
    • Jeram
    • Tanjung Karang
  • Hulu Selangor
    • Serendah
    • Rasa
    • Ulu Yam