Shell Malaysia matchmakes students with OEMs to develop better eco-marathon cars

Shell’s Make The Future Live, a collaboration platform driving lower-carbon energy future, returns to Malaysia for the second year in a row, with its main event – Shell Eco-marathon Asia (SEMA) taking place in Sepang International Circuit from the 2nd to 5th of June.

SEMA is an intercountry competition that challenges students to build ultra energy-efficient cars and put them to the test. This year, Shell Malaysia has collaborated with Malaysia Automotive Robotics and IoT Institute (MARii) to improve the performance of the five participating local teams.

The students were given an opportunity to meet with four local original equipment manufacturers (OEMs) – namely Suria Component Manufacturing, Sapura Engineering, Kasai Teck See Malaysia, and Jasa Sarjana in a matchmaking session organised by Shell and MARii.

The session encouraged collaboration between industry players and the Malaysian students to further enhance the performance of their cars. The partnership also provided firsthand-exposure to the OEMs to the potential talent pool the nation has in the area of STEM.

SEMA is the regional leg of the global Eco-marathon challenge. The 2020 edition will see participation from over 100 students from 18 countries around Asia Pacific and Middle East. The students will take their self-built energy-efficient cars on to the Sepang track to put their design to the test.

There will be two key competitions in SEMA this year – the Mileage Challenge where teams compete to travel the farthest with the least amount of fuel, as well as the qualifier for the Driver’s World Championship, where teams have to cross the finishing line without running out of the limited allocation of energy, matching their cars with strategy and driver’s skill.

The top teams in the challenge will win their place in the 2020 Driver’s World Championship, to compete with other best performers around the world.

The Malaysian students competing in SEMA are from Universiti Tunku Abdul Rahman (Team Genesis UTAR), Universiti Malaysia Perlis (UniMAP Auto Racing Team), Multimedia University (Team MMU Grune Welt), Heriot-Watt University Malaysia (Heriot-Watt Racing Team), and Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia (Team Aurora).



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here