Mercedes-Benz announces new and simpler names for SUVs and Coupés

When a carmaker plans to introduce more than 30 models (with no less than 11 all-new models) to the global market by the year 2020, it’s hard not to imagine that confusion will arise in the process of naming them – a problem for people like us, that is.

Mercedes-Benz CLA 45 AMG first look in Malaysia -

Take this; we all know by now that the GLA shares the same underpinnings as the A-Class hatchback, as is the four-door coupe CLA. Clear as day, isn’t it? Well, according to Mercedes-Benz, now is the ideal time to introduce a more transparent and simpler vehicle naming system, just so we won’t be having a hard time differentiating the models apart.

New nomenclature Mercedes-Benz model series

This new system revolves around the five core model series – A, B, C, E and S-Class; which will aid our orientation when it comes to telling models apart. As of now, all SUV models will have the GL suffix, save for the original G-Class. All roadsters will include the “SL” suffix in their names beginning 2016, with the third letter (i.e SLS) linking back to one of the five core model series. The SLK therefore becomes the new SLC.

Mercedes-Benz S-Class W222 launch in Malaysia -

Here’s a quick guide for the new SUV names:

New NameSpecific Name
GLCGL C-Class; previously known as GLK
GLEGL E-Class; previously known as M-Class or ML
GLE CoupéGL E-Class Coupé
GLSGL S-Class; previously known as GL


New nomenclature Mercedes-Benz drive systems

Besides renaming the models, each variant – across the board – will receive a more transparent suffix as seen in the diagram above. There will be no suffix for the petrol models, though.

Mercedes-Benz C-Cass W205 launch in Malaysia -

It’s a move we applaud. After all, it does make our lives easier, don’t you think? The only way your Mercedes-Benz will not be recognised from this juncture onward is if you peel the badges off the rear.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here