This just in, as Proton Motorsports, fresh from the success from Asia Pacific Rally Championship (APRC), will participate in Super 2000 World Rally Championship (WRC), starting its programme with P-G Andersson and Giandomenico Basso driving on the Monte Carlo Rally in January 2012. Apart from the WRC, the team is expected to field Andersson, Basso and APRC champion Alister McRae in retaining their driver and team champion titles in APRC 2012. No word on the fate of their Australian driver Chris Atkinson on their 2012 campaign.

The team will expect to participate in stages; Sweden, New Zealand, Finland, Spain, France and Britain. Its APRC campaign gets underway in Malaysia by April or May 2012. For that, Proton will pull out from the Intercontinental Rally Challenge (IRC) which they participated since 2009. However, in this Super 2000 category of the WRC, similar car and specs will be used and Proton Satria Neo S2000 will be competing with Skoda Fabias, Ford Fiesta S2000 and so on. This category is also a support rally for the main WRC event. Proton was the Production World Rally Champion in 2002 with Malaysian rally great Karamjit Singh, who drove the Proton PERT (rebadged Evo 7) into Production category glory.


Previous articleBMW 5-Series F10 M Sport goes green, chrome green
Next articlePreview: Top Gear’s 2011 Christmas Special in India!
Hanzo AutoBuzz
This author represents all writers that had contributed in our previous website Hanzo AutoBuzz.