After a successful round of last year inaugural Formula Drift Malaysia in 2009, Goodyear Malaysia and ESPNSTAR is proud to bring another edition of the Formula Drift Asia series to Malaysia which took place on 18th-19th of December 2010 at the historical location of Dataran Merdeka, Kuala Lumpur.

The change of location to the exotic ad historical Dataran Merdeka brings challenge into the next level as it has turned out to be one of the most hardest place to perform competitive drifting. Tight U hairpins, uneven surface from tarmac at the start to brick roads towards almost 80% of the course and very short launch distance are among challenges awaiting competitors.

A total of 40 drifters from Malaysia, Thailand, Indonesia, Japan, Brazil, New Zealand, Hong Kong and the Phillipines took part and that roaster includes Malaysia’s best drifter, Tengku Djan, who will be defending his title he took in 2009. Also in the participators list including former D1 champion Daigo Saito, Ryuji Miki, Kiwi Daynom ‘Slim’ Templeman and many more.

The very challenging layout has caused qualifying to top 32 a very difficult one and caused many drifters to score 0 points. (More info on how judging and points were taken is by reading this The unforgiving layout has also caused number of drivers to land their cars into barriers, destroying their bumpers, suspension and some even forced to retire as their cars were not in good shape. Fortunately no driver’s were harmed apart of a hurt ego.

In the end, after 2 days of intense competitions and a total of 7 rounds, Daigo Saito in his Toyota Aristo emerged as the winner as he beaten Thailand’s sensation Kokae on his Nissan Cefiro A32. Ryuji Miki on a Nissan Silvia S15 consolidated for third place after he defeated Indonesian’s Rifat on his Nissan 180SX. Sadly Malaysia did not fare well this round and only local sensation Ser Ming Hui, aka known as Ah Fai, managed to get into the top 8 before his suspension decided to gave up during an OMT (One More Time) rematch. Djan however made a very rare mistake during top 16 and sadly allowed his opponent Ah Fai to win.

However the Jalur Gemilang was raised flying high with the local crowd on euphoria mode as Tengku Djan were crowned as the overall champion of the Formula Drift Asia series, after he won the 1st round at Singapore and finished 3rd on 2nd round at Thailand. With that Malaysia drifting scene has ended in a high note, despite our neighbours has started to show some serious competition. With a superb response from local crowd, Formula Drift is here to stay! Hopefully not in Dataran Merdeka though……

In the meantime, please help yourself and enjoy the pictures!

Previous articleDRB-HICOM and VW ink production pact worth RM1bil
Next articleProton Inspira Story – Part 2
Hanzo AutoBuzz
This author represents all writers that had contributed in our previous website Hanzo AutoBuzz.